chuggin along…

by amyesacove

So let’s see. Since I wrote last, I was awaiting a response from my 1st choice for DP. He had read the script and we had an incredibly dynamic meeting so I was really excited about him. He read the script, loved it and was waiting to hear about another project before he could commit to mine. So I waited. And then I called…and called again. And left a voicemail, wrote an email and send a couple of texts…all over the course of a few weeks of course. I didn’t want to give up on him but this was a little ridiculous. Had he died? honestly, I was a little worried. I finally decided to go with another DP who was wonderful as well. He’s on board and we’re meeting tomorrow. Lesson learned: don’t get too attached! Things fall into place as they must.

Funny, just after getting in touch with this new DP, the original one wrote me a text saying that he had been camping and that, sadly, he wouldn’t be available to work with us. He did offer his help in rental or crew recommendations so that was really cool.

I also called on a friend who I know hasn’t worked lately- mainly because so many people are taking their shoots out of state lately and having to hire local crews. This friend of mine is one of the best sound mixers in the biz. 7 time academy award nominated sound mixer! I am honored. It seems that some really wonderful people are coming together to work on this little film. Amazing how the universe delivers. 

Don’t get me wrong. I am uncomfortable CONSTANTLY but I know I am growing. And for the first time in my life, I feel like I am where I’m supposed to be. If you’re new to this blog, check out littlegirlproductions.com to learn about the story and watch the short film. We’re now making the feature film version of the story and if its going to turn out anything near what I see in my mind….its going to be beautiful. And I can’t wait for you to see it.

I wrote it, I’m in it, and I’m directing it. And I can’t believe its really here! 

